I am writing this post to address the number of issues the country of my birth is facing regarding students and their legitimate cry for help.

I’m going to start with Wits, being that they’re instigators.

Wits

Wits students, no words can and will ever do justice to broadcast the love and pride and affection and any other feeling of endearment I and not only the rest of S.A., but the rest of the world harbor towards you. Once again, you have proven yourself to be true and selfless leaders.
It’s one thing to sacrifice your own money and buy protesting students water to keep hydrated while fighting for a universal course under the blazing African sun, it’s a whole different ballgame to look at an exam that transports you one step closer to the degree you so passionately want and say, “You know what? Fuck this! I can not silence myself any longer. I cannot silence my struggles any longer.”
I know I speak for not only myself when I say, thank you, my brother. Thank you, my sister.

And also, my hat goes out as I take a bow to the rest of the students from across S.A. and the youth fraternity at large for the pledging allegiance to the course. Keep on keeping on and educating those that want to be educated.

Supportive Organizations

I think every single one of us knows that a business’s bottom line is profit. Their pledge to CSR is required by law, so if that was not a legal obligation, perhaps most if not all would not indulge in social upliftment initiatives.
So, for those that have supplied food and water to us to keep energy levels “on fleek”, as we say, we thank you from the bottom of our hearts. You are the projection of Ubuntu.

Now, to address the villains we are at war with…

South African Police Services

I am writing this with a broken heart, a sombre mood and tears in my eyes. When you throw teargas at us, shoot us with rubber bullets and shield yourselves from us as if we’re the ones with A-grade weapons, do you not see the very kids you raised? Do you not see the kids you helped with homeworks back in grade 3? We are the very same kids that you bought Christmas and New Year’s day clothes back then, man.
And what’s even more heartbreaking is that when we all go back home after a long day, you say we disrespected you at work. Wow.
Engrave yourselves on the right side of history. Be the protectors you oathed to be.

The Media

I remember watching eNCA some day last week, and on that day it was National Media Day, or World Media Day, not too sure. eNCA was reporting on how the media is still fighting for media freedom and uncensorship in S.A. In fact, back in the ’70s, there was a day on which reporters and journalists were arrested for practising journalism by reporting on Apartheid. That day was dubbed Black Wednesday.
How do you now stand there and claim to honour that day when you report false stories of what’s been happening at the ground? Out of ALL the coverage over the course of the #FeesMustFall movement, it is only Phakamile Hlubi, a reporter at eNCA who has excellently reported on what has been going on, and we thank her for that. And this is not the first time she has done a stellar job, because I vividly remember her reports when police massacred miners in Marikana.
Everyone knows what’s going on, so we don’t need reports, we need support. Let BBC do the reporting, let CNN do the reporting. If you’re a national newscaster, we need your unwavering support. Walk into the set wearing a #FeesMustFall T-shirt. Come to locations where marches are taking place with water and snacks for us. That is what we need!

University Managements

I don’t have much to say to you, except that you have revealed yourselves as ruthless capitalists. That is just what you are.

My ANC

Explain to me how we are hooligans. When we are reminiscent of you, explain to me how we are hooligans.
Must we sit and let education pass us by when it is our sole hope to better lives?

Privileged Whites and Blacks

I don’t think there’s anyone who does not understand our grievances, you just don’t want us to have a bright future. You have seen what we’re capable of and you’re threatened. Well, I’ll have you know, we’re not going to let up! We are going to breathe life to the threat we are!

A Special Thank You

I don’t know about the rest of you guys, but all I’ve seen so far is a litany of very strong and very proud black women who have been perplexingly astounding.
These people stood bullets and racism straight in the eye and told it, “Yeah, bra, so here I am. What are you going to do?” That’s nothing short of amazing, to he honest. So, to the women who have led us to war and are leading us to victory, all I have is a thank you. We love and appreciate you.

Posted from WordPress for Android